Wow, I had a great day yesterday. The weather was warm and "summer like," everything was dry... So nice. Woke early and met Jim for a bike on some new trails in Lucketts. Kerkstra has been raving about this new local ride for a while now. He has ridden it with his old bike and his new one, I think he even did some trail work one day (a true trail steward). While we were waiting for Lippy and Dan, Jim and I wanted to take a quick lap. Little did we know how tough it was going to be. It took a little over an hour to sweat through it. For newly cut trails, they were pretty good. Soft and spongy right out the gate with very little warm up time made my legs and lungs scream. Once I got warmed up it went pretty smoothly, I'm not sure Jim felt the same... He was done after that lap so I took off with Lippy and Dan. This lap was a little softer and spongier but we moved right through it and felt pretty good. Couple slips and falls but no really juicy crashes. When we got close to the end I sped off to meet my afternoon commitment to the river.
Meanwhile, back in West Virginia I met up with a friend, staged a vehicle and took on a new section of the Shenandoah. I make that sounds like I am big time river explorer... I'm not. It was the section that runs from just south of my house to just passed Rt 9. Pretty fun and great weather, I mean seriously ow often do we get in the 60's in January.
Today was filled with errands and lunch with Chris. I'm leaving for Colorado tomorrow so I re-waxed the board and packed all my junk. Hope I am hydrated enough!
I'd have to say, it was a pretty sweet month. I logged a few days on the snowboard, few good hikes, 5-6ish bike rides and a journey on the kayak. O yeah I worked a bit of overtime plus most of my own shifts.
What's next?